If you are a resident of the California or Oregon states, you may be wondering why there is sales tax included in your total purchase price. Let me explain…
As of January 1, 2016 we must charge both California and Oregon residents a prepaid sales tax on every purchase.
The California law called AB-1717 is accumulated into a new tax on prepaid services labeled Prepaid MTS surcharge. You can read a more detailed description about this new surcharge through the California State, Board of Equalization website here. While Oregon residents will see an E911 tax for each purchase of prepaid wireless products or services. If you need a more detailed description of the E911 tax, you can read it through the website here.
California residents will be charged 9.26% upon checkout for any domestic prepaid wireless top-up or pin-code. This surcharge does not apply to calling cards, prepaid phones or SIM cards.
Oregon residents will be charged a flat $0.75 cents per domestic upon checkout for any prepaid wireless top-up, pin-code, SIM card or prepaid phone.
If you still have more questions regarding the prepaid sales tax, feel free to contact the Pinzoo team at 1-888-697-4696 between the hours of 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM PST, 7 days a week.